A new proposal

gretna shops

The Extreme knitter wanted to visit the Gretna Gateway Outlet Village as we started out for our last night in Scotland. After the knitting problems the previous day I wasn’t going to argue with her.

The complex was a small designer type setup with some well known shops. Totally out of the blue I was treated to a Craghopper fleece gillet and I splashed out on a Subway meal.

While the E/knitter wandered around the shops I nipped into one of those “Olde worlde” sweet shops and made a special purchase that would be revealed later.

Suitable over shopped and over fed we returned to the campervan and I phoned what would be our next and last campsite.

I managed to bag the last pitch available.

Next stop was the Blacksmiths shop in Gretna Green famous for performing wedding ceremonies for eloping couples from England.

gretna black

It was here that I produced a pair of wedding rings crafted by Haribo confectionary that I had bought in the sweet shop earlier and we renewed our wedding vows to each other as we exchanged the rings. 45 years in July, we are starting to get the hang of this marriage thing. I’m going for the endurance award.

Haribo Rings

new rings

With our marriage now extended, we headed north on the A74 towards Moffat.

The Camping and Caravan Club 181 pitch site at Moffat is a really a staging post for visitors travelling to and from Scotland to break the long trek. It is always busy.

The welcome was very pleasant and efficient. The site wardens obviously had the site running like clockwork and considering they had spent the day showing hundreds of campers to their pitches, still had time for a bit of good humoured banter.

Moffat Camping and Caravan Club Site

P1130257

Once we were settled I sent the feral daughter a text message to say I had just married her mother, which came as a bit of a shock to her.

Then she was upset because she missed out on the wedding do. Our evening wedding supper started with a fine beef soup produced especially for us by Mr Heinz and that was it, nothing else. What did you expect? The two Haribo wedding rings used up my budget.

A short walk from the campsite led us to Moffat High Street. At that time in the evening the shops were closed, O dear, what a shame.

Moffats claim to fame is Sheep, lots of them.

The Ram Statue in Moffat

P1130251

We had only just returned to the campervan when the heavens opened up and gave us the first rain we had experienced during our trip.

We woke the next day to find the pitch slightly waterlogged, but at least the rain had stopped.

The trip home is always the same, driving back down the motorway feeling slightly melancholy after an enjoyable trip.

Until the next one.

 

7 thoughts on “A new proposal

    • Thank you, Mine was red with a yellow stone and the E/knitters was yellow with a red stone, so I’m presuming lemon and strawberry.:) We didn’t taste them and they are now sat on the window ledge getting sticky and gathering bits of fluff. I not sure of the shelf life of a Haribo. Not long in this hot weather. 🙂 Oops I think I’ve just spoilt the romantic image:)

  1. Well…. as the Extreme Knitter’s Bezzy, I’m gutted not to have been Maid Of Honour at your wedding and the possibility of receiving a Haribo fried egg in return for my wedding duties. I’ll just have to go and buy my own! Xxxx

    • Debs, It’s no good having a hissy fit now. It was a spur of the moment thing and we were eloping.:) Next time I’m in Morrisons I’ll buy you a whole bag of Haribos 🙂

    • That’s true. The part I hate is when you leave the wild, deserted spots and start driving with the nose to tail motorway traffic again. I could turn around and go back again.

Leave a comment